“Birdman”

FoxBirdman

Last weekend we saw “Birdman: Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)” directed by Alejandro González Iñárritu. Winner of 4 Academy Awards including Best Picture and stars: Michael Keaton,  Ed Norton, Emma Stone, Naomi Watts, Zach Galifianakis, and Amy Ryan.

I loved it from the first shot of a fireball streaking across the sky. I still keep hearing that people have not liked it. I just don’t understand. If you love movies, a little bit of unreality, and characters that to me seemed very real you will enjoy.

Funny, it reminded me of a 1970 Altman film, “Brewster McCloud” and sure enough the day after we saw “Birdman“, I ran into a reference to Brewster McCloud” which starred Bud Cort and Shelly Duvall. It would be interesting to see if it still holds up after 45 years!

We went to the Westhampton Theatre to see “Birdman” and for each of the last few times I have gone I  think, this may be the last time I will be able to see a movie there.

Go see a movie at the Westhampton, and take some extra time to look around. Check out the seats, the walls and yes even the bathroom, because one day soon they will all be gone.

Leave a Reply

