Happy Father’s Day!

CarmenNPaulMandolia4-13-78

Happy Father’s Day to all the father’s out there. The above photo is of my father and grandfather taken in April 1978 around the Tidal Basin in DC with the cherry blossoms in full bloom. My father lost his father while in high school so when he married my mom, he and my grandfather became close especially after my father retired. I did not realize how close.

When my grandfather passed, I remember asking my dad how mom was holding up. My dad turned almost tearing up. He said,” Everyone asks about your mother but no one asks me how I am doing.” It was then I realized that my grandfather had been a good friend and father to my Dad for over 40 years. I will never forget that.

If your dad is still around, whoever that may be, it is too late to send a card so give him a call, or visit and bring a present. A tie is nice or a hug is just fine. If he is not still with us, spend some with him in your thoughts.

Happy Father’s Day.

Leave a Reply

