Pearl Harbor ~ 71 years ago today

Dadinuniform

My father had already been in the service a couple of months when the Japanese attacked Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941. It was a Sunday around dinner time that they heard. My father was eating pasta at his mother’s house with friends. The same thing they did every Sunday. A few short months later he was on a converted ocean linear headed for Australia.

I believe the photo above was taken after he returned. Because of his length of service and time abroad, he was discharged before the end of the war.

One Response to “Pearl Harbor ~ 71 years ago today”

  1. […] My father had been drafted into the Army prior to the attack and was having Sunday spaghetti dinner at his mother’s house with friends when the news arrived. Here is my post from last year. […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.