Mystery On Broad Street!

Adams Camera on the 2800 block of West Broad Street looks like a ghost… a photography store from another age. Through the window you can see old equipment, camera cases dangling from hooks,  and papers strewn about.

Closed for inventory? Will it ever reopen? Another victim of the digital age of photography and the current recession.

A supporter of local photographers and super-8 filmmakers longtime manger, Karen was no where in sight. I still miss my Yashica Mat 124g I purchased new from Adams Camera that was taken from me when I was held up by gunpoint in the 1100 block of West Grace Street in December 1980.

The original Adams Camera was downtown around 5th and E. Broad Street if I remember correctly. Two brothers ran their two separate stores, the other being near where the last remaining one is.

Feel free to comment if you know what is going on.

3 Responses to “Mystery On Broad Street!”

  1. The two brothers who run that store are my uncles and, as these mystery stories usually turn out, the answer is no mystery. The store hours are kept as posted. Only they neglected to indicate that the hours are 9:00 PM to 5:00 AM. I suggested they rethink this, but they just called me a young stripling and told me they know what they’re doing. 😉

  2. Bob, thanks for clearing up the mystery. I have fond memories of Adams Camera at the downtown location, I believe it was at 5th Street…or maybe it was 7th? I can’t remember it was a long time ago.

  3. My company is getting ready to do a historic rehab on this building. We’re going to develop it into retail shops and possible art gallery downstairs and lofts and artists studios upstairs. It’s such a cool iconic building on Broad Street. We hope the project makes a nice addition to the area. We are currently leasing the ground floor. here is more info – http://snipesproperties.com/snipes-develop-adams-camera-building/

Leave a Reply

